RSS

DREX IN THE MORNING FIRED?

15 Dec

Drex In the Morning

So real estate has had a rough patch, but appears to be improving.  However, it now seems that the radio industry is catching up.  With more DJ’s getting released than short sales coming on the market, it appears a new casualty “allegedly” took place today, with the release of Drex in the Morning.  Drex had been on Kiss 103.5 for several years (never really counted), and was highly paid and supposedly highly rated.  Truly not sure what happened, but I’ve got to say, I was far more disappointed with the firing of Eddie & Jobo on B96.

Not to be completely rude, but I never really saw what the fuss was about with Drex, and his voice was really annoying.  While it is never a good thing to be fired, especially around the holidays, I really hope he will land another gig…just not in Chicago.

UPDATE: so after Drex was fired, Mel T quit! Loyal for sure, but not a good move in a bad economy.  He was making over $1 million, she was probably at $50K!  Not too many stations hiring right now, so she should have hung in there.  Hope he finds THEM a new gig!

UPDATE 2/27/11: http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/brotha-fred-is-listening-new-kiss-fm-dj-loving-chicago/

MORE SCOOP AT http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/01/04/where-is-brotha-fred/and see what Lil Drex has to say about it at http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2010/12/24/423/

 
52 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in ENTERTAINMENT, Radio News

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

52 responses to “DREX IN THE MORNING FIRED?

  1. Sue M

    December 15, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    His ratings were so much higher than Eddie & Jobo thats why they lost their jobs this is a sad day in Chicago. Drex was REAL he talked about real things and every morning had an hour he dedicated to the troops. THESE are the reasons why he was so great. I hope someone in Chicago hires him because 103.5 made a HUGE mistake!

     
    • Rogi

      January 20, 2011 at 12:11 pm

      Drex was and still is amazing…I will not listen to 103.5 (not that I ever was aside from DreX’s morning talk show)…BRING DREX BACK!!

       
  2. danielle ortega

    December 15, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    i think its a crock of %$#@ that he was tacken off the air i have listened to them for 8yrs every morning when i went to work and school!!! i loved ask a bitch in the morning with mel t and angie taylor the made a huge mistake i am so boycotting the radio station!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  3. Tara

    December 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    As an avid listener, I can tell you (along with millions of other listeners) that Drex himself was just a side show. Mel T and Angi Taylor WERE the show. This is a horrible turn of events, KISS FM has made a huge mistake and will lose millions of fans. Me included.

     
  4. Sybil

    December 15, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    This was a real disapointment when I turned to my FAVORITE station and Drex,and Mel T were not on!!!!!! Bring them Back

     
  5. britta rivera

    December 15, 2010 at 8:15 pm

    With this blog getting a record number of hits, obviously many had strong likes and dislikes for Drex. He should be happy so many have shown him support!

    On a scale of 1 – 10 what would you rate Drex? Was he a HIT or MISS??? Post your comments…keep them clean!

     
    • liz

      January 8, 2011 at 6:20 pm

      I loved his show and am deeply disapointed they have taken him off the air. I’m surely am not going to listen to kiss fm. I would give their show a 10.

       
    • Heat14

      February 9, 2011 at 8:22 pm

      I rate them a 10. I will definately miss the show.

       
    • Ted

      April 14, 2011 at 2:58 pm

      I’m closing in on 59 years old. Been listening to Chicago radio all my life. Drex and Mel were a breath of fresh air. They covered topics from school bullying to war and taxes. They need to get on a station that appreciates their talents. They cold be silly one minute and complelling the next. I found their show unique.

       
  6. Niki

    December 15, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    I think he was a miss. You know, when he first came on he used to bash Eddie and Jobo (btw, not a fan of theirs either) for being old men talking dirty to young girls. Well, not that Drex was much better. But the difference was he was gay, so its not like he was being a creepy old man talking to young girls. So what.

    His voice is annoying, Britta.

    And Sue, he didn’t talk about real things. He talked about ridiculous things that had nothing to do about anything. And he didn’t dedicate an hour to the troops. He dedicated 5 mins to discuss how many have died and play a song for them.

    He was childish and annoying. He didn’t care about anything or anyone other than himself. He acted like a whiny baby half the time. Honestly, Mel-T was just as annoying too. She was so stupid to quit like that, especially if they were going to let her stay. I hope she has a job to go to considering the economy sucks.

    I’m not disappointed he or she is gone. The only one I really liked was Angie. I hope she makes it out ok.

     
    • Sue M

      December 16, 2010 at 4:29 pm

      For someone who couldn’t stand him you seemed to have listened to him alot !
      He was very caring towards the military I 100% disagree with you on that. He was funny and he talked about REAL things. Things everyone could relate too. If you didnt like him why the heck were you listening??????

       
      • Niki

        December 16, 2010 at 7:03 pm

        Sue, I worked in an office that had 103.5 on all day long. Trust, it was not by choice, but we voted on the station based on the type of music. It was b/w KISS or B96. Kiss won. I lost.

        And really, the wheel of trash on Fridays? That’s real?

        As for the military, I know plenty of people in the army, air force and national guard and none of them feel that Drex announcing how many people died the day before and playing a song that often was just someone’s request, was really giving them respect.

        He was a gossip and a whiner. I hope Clear Channel does not bring him back like they did in San Antonio. He dropped ratings from the number one spot to number 9 w/in a year. If he was getting paid as much as the reports say he was, he really should have been working better for it.

         
      • Rogi

        January 20, 2011 at 12:20 pm

        Agree with you SueM…the only people that listen to KISS FM are females listeners 16 – 24yrs old who like dance music or some sort of similar style music…I hated the music KISS plays and never tuned in, BUT DREX was amazing only reason people of my age tuned in to KISS FM between 4AM and 10AM. Horrible music selection!!

         
    • Sue

      December 16, 2010 at 8:12 pm

      You think thats all he did you obviously didnt listen too much and having almost and ENTIRE SHOW dedicated to talking about them and other important issues doesnt count? You would have chosen B96 over them and you are talking about him being childish and annoying?? LMAO!! Yeah the wheel of trash and ask a bitch and all the other fun things he did will be missed. You need to loosen up and have fun and open your ears a little more because you sure didnt hear what the rest of the listeners were hearing.. Have fun at the B BASH if they still have it LMAO!!!

       
      • Niki

        December 17, 2010 at 1:57 pm

        Wow, talk about who is being childish. Have I said anything about your character at all? No. Please do not stoop down and make this about my character. We all have different tastes.
        As for having an entire show committed to the troops, when was that exactly? It must have been on one of my very few and infrequent days off.
        I do not listen to B96 either. I proposed any entirely different station. When I say I lost, I meant I lost on both battles. Regardless, it is obvious that not all of the listeners heard what you did either, b/c he did DROP in the ratings. He was in the number 9 spot when he was fired, not number 1. Btw, he dropped to number 9 w/in a year. That says a WHOLE lot, don’t you think?

         
  7. What?!?

    December 15, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    DREX COME BACK!!! The fuss was about GREAT topics that no other stations here in Chicago didn’t not touch. I was helpful, fun and entertaining. I didn’t need to pay a psychiatrist because Drex in the Morning and their listeners helped me out. I listened everyday to work and at work. Here in Chicago ALL radio station sucks. I mean ALL of them. The only one that I like is Drex in the Morning after that I don’t listen to radio I listen to my ipod. Ryan is terrible, why do people listen to the person?

     
  8. Sue M

    December 15, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    What?!? I agree with you 100% I feel the same way.. plus I havent heard anyone else on the radio that dedicates so much time to the troops!

     
  9. Alex

    December 16, 2010 at 2:43 am

    I loved his show. Drex, Angi, Mel T and Tommy Black were awesome together. I will not listen to 103.5 until they come back. The show was awesome, relevant and hilarious.

    Drex dedicated time for the troops on a daily basis.

    Clear Channel has messed up on this one.

     
  10. sara

    December 16, 2010 at 3:22 am

    Britta – get your facts straight before you put them on the internet.

     
    • britta rivera

      December 16, 2010 at 4:13 pm

      Hey Sara, if you have better facts…please spill the beans! I am sure his listeners would love to hear more! Thanks

       
  11. shell m

    December 16, 2010 at 6:27 am

    OMG i cannot believe Drex was fired i listened to them every morning! That was a huge mistake of 103.5! They were the only reason i even listened to that radio station! I give Mel T a lot of credit for standing by him and quiting because thats whats wrong with the world today no one cares about anyone else but themselves!! I wish DREX and Mel T the best!! I know someone will pick them up right away!!

     
  12. AC Slater

    December 16, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    I can’t believe it took them this long to fire these clowns. I wouldn’t even listen to them if there were commercials on every other radio station in my presets… Sucks in this economy, but I’m sure they’ll be fine, or at least Drex will, sucks for Mel and Angi

     
  13. Niki

    December 16, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    I heard Angi Taylor on this morning. Apparently, she didn’t quit with Mel-T.

     
  14. Kevo

    December 16, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Let’s be honest, if his voice was truly annoying he wouldnt be on the radio. It was weird for sure, but so arent most gay guys? I liked his voice.

    As for the content, it wasn’t much different from b96. They did have the lotion hour which I hope they get to keep. Very creative segment.

     
  15. Frank Rizzo

    December 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    they canned him because they’re bringing back MANCOW!!!

     
    • Sue

      December 17, 2010 at 3:34 pm

      You are making that up I assume? They did the same thing with him one day he was just gone

       
  16. zip

    December 16, 2010 at 10:29 pm

    I never was a Drex fan, but I really did like Mel T and Angi Taylor. I think they should have their own show. Personally, I think the show was doing better when he was gone (he was sick for like a month), and they realized they didn’t need to pay him so much. He always sat up on a soapbox and then made no sense.

     
  17. tatiana

    December 17, 2010 at 5:41 am

    where to start….I am at a loss for words…i CAN not begin to understand why they would fire the crew! I started listening in 2004 when it was drex,mel-teanie , pete and joann Jeanett. They got rid of joann and that was a good move she was too damn up tight. Then pete was the next to go…i thought that was hard it as like the peanut butter with out the jelly, the waffles with out syrup but eventually i got over it after all drex and mel were still there. Then Smash came into the pic nad i grew to like him only to have him leave as well, then they introduced Angie in the mix….she can be funny i guess but i could care less about her. Its mel-t and drex that hurt for me. So many great moment the wheel of trash , ask a bi*ch , drexcess hollywood, the bad news bible, not to mention the countless stories they shared with us not all funny some sad , some very personal, they made chicago morning listeners feel like a lil family. @ NIKKI clearly u did not listen to the show enough Drex dedicated a lot more than 5 minutes to the troops. every year on 9/11 i already knew to carry a box of kleenex in the car with me because the show will make me tear up so much. One thing is to have an opinion about his how but another is to make false alligations about him caring and dedicating time to the troops. He had a year when ludacris tried to go in and promote his new cd and drex asked he leave because he was taking a call from a listner and she was sobbing about a loved one she had lost in 9/11. Clearly the people you worked with had more brains that you if they wanted DreX over the othr lame station you wanted. Oh but what am i saying …silly alligations i know nothing of…how stupud that must make me look?!
    moving on to the more important topic , they had so many great topics that really made you think. Where ever drex and mel-t should go i will deff follow.

     
    • Niki

      December 17, 2010 at 2:09 pm

      Wow, you really are a class act huh? One day dedicated to the troops, ok. I’m sorry, I take 9/11 off every year to mourn the loss of a family member that died in the Twin Towers. My bad. That is the one day a year I guess I don’t listen hard enough. So sorry. Still, one day a year is not the hour a day that was someone else’s opinion was pretty way off.

      As for the other “lame” stations I’d rather listen to, they are higher on the ratings than Drex was, so maybe you might rethinking who was listening to a lame show. And those hosts have been around a lot longer than Drex and will likely continue to be around for a long time.

       
      • Sue

        December 17, 2010 at 3:33 pm

        Like I said you sure didnt listen good enough (but seemed to listen alot to know about the show and his ratings.. why are you even commenting on something you dont like makes no sense) and it was more than 9/11 like i said he dedicated ALOT of time to the troops, but the only people that matter to me on comments are the ones that KNOW what they are talking about. Sure there are other stations that play music all the time (over and over and over again) and talk shows that are so boring I cant handle it I like interesting fun and topics of interest as a show and Drex fulfilled that its too bad they made a mistake and if they think the ratings were too low just watch them sink way down now..

         
  18. Christy

    December 17, 2010 at 7:04 am

    I didn’t listen much, but if I turned to 103.5 and I heard Drex talking I’d shut it off. His voice was extremely annoying and he always sounded like an idiot. I didn’t listen long enough to know who the other people were that walked out/were fired.

     
  19. Niki

    December 17, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I take it Sue that your opinion is that only people who like Drex are allowed to comment? As Britta asked, she wanted to know who thought Drex was a hit or a miss. That includes both sides of the fence here.
    And if you don’t think I know what I am talking about, and don’t care about people who don’t know what they are talking about, then why are you commenting? If you really looked into it more, you would see, Drex was # 3 when he re-signed in early 2009 and dropped to # 9 by the time he was fired.
    Let me think, apparently more people side with me than you think.

    By the way everyone, the new morning show has been announced:

    http://newsblogs.chicagotribune.com/towerticker/2010/12/drexs-kiss-fm-slot-goes-to-charlottes-brotha-fred.html

    And Tommy Black and Angi Taylor are still on the show, apparently she was smart enough not to quit. Not that the loss of Mel-T is really all that sad either.
    Hopefully my mornings will be a lot better than they were!

     
    • Sue

      December 17, 2010 at 6:51 pm

      Of course Angi would decide to stay she has a kid and getting married. I think people who say how much they hate the show but seem to know SO much about it are hypocrites. Yeah listening to your teeny bopper stuff should make you happy. If there was a DJ I hated I wouldnt bother even listening more than once but you must just like to complain about nothing…whatever

       
      • Niki

        December 17, 2010 at 7:13 pm

        Wow, apparently you can’t read. I am stuck at work listening to them, I did not choose to listen to them more than once. If I didn’t have to hear for the phone, believe me, my ears would be plugged with something way more enjoyable.
        And I don’t listen to teeny bopper music, although I love your assumptions. I have a very broad range of music likes and they run from country to alternative to classical to Top 40. Looking at my playlist, I see don’t have any musicians in their teens at all.
        I know so much about a lot of things Sue. It’s called being well informed and educated. I prefer not to be ignorant, unlike some. It’s ironic how someone who loves the show so much doesn’t seem to know much about it at all, beyond what is on the surface.
        And Mel-T was engaged too, wasn’t she? Apparently she isn’t worried about paying for a wedding with no salary. Making a stand like she did by quiting wasn’t exactly smart considering the economy, single and childless or not.

         
      • Sue

        December 17, 2010 at 8:33 pm

        Niki, you seem to know more about it than just what you hear on the station so whatever hyppcrite cant talk to you anymore cant have a battle of wits with an unarmed person as yourself.. have a wonderful day :)

         
  20. Sue

    December 17, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    Drex in the morning FB page had 65,00 fans 103.5 had 72,000 so it shows how many of the people that listen, I should say listened to that station only were fans because of him. If they all stop listening that station is going to sink who cares who replaces him wont be anyone Drex fans will listen to

     
    • Sue

      December 17, 2010 at 8:34 pm

      The one thing I can agree with you on I am missing a 0

       
      • Niki

        December 17, 2010 at 8:56 pm

        Just curious, you know since I can’t look it up to confirm that myself as the page has been taken down. Which makes me wonder how accurate that is…

        I think it is funny that you keep calling me a hypocrite. Do you even know what it means?
        It seems that you can’t talk to me anymore b/c you have nothing to back what you are saying up, other than your own opinions. Opinions are not the same thing as wit, sorry Sue.

         
  21. Niki

    December 17, 2010 at 7:25 pm

    Are you missing a “0” there or did you put the comma in the wrong place on that comment? I’d look, but you know, they haven’t been on FB in a few days, so you can’t look it up anymore.

     
  22. Niki

    December 17, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    And thank you, I will have a wonderful day. In fact, I’ll have a lot more wonderful days now that I don’t have to start them listening to Drex over the office radio system.

    Welcome Brotha Fred! :)

     
  23. LG

    December 24, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    I can’t believe they are both gone!! I thought they were sooo funny and the only reason I listen to kiss FM. They would make my morning a little bit better know I could get a laugh in at 8am! During the commercials I would switch over to b96 and I just couldn’t listen to them for more than a min. Terrible voice that Tingle guy has and his other douchebag friend. They are the ones that need to hit the can!
    I will def. Ban kiss FM…BIG MISTAKE!!!

     
  24. LG

    December 24, 2010 at 5:38 pm

    Sorry, made a mistake… Not Sherman and tingle but J Nice and Julian.

     
  25. Centurion

    January 4, 2011 at 11:02 pm

    The only reason i listened to 103.5, is because of Mel T, Angie Taylor and Drex in the morning. Since they are not on….I am trying to find something else besides the same mundane, boring, same as the last ten years music. OH, and none of that candy pop stuff that gets played once every hour. Drex was fresh, invigorating and constantly changing…..and today..103.5 is boring boring, boring….push the button, change the station.

     
  26. Kris

    January 20, 2011 at 7:21 am

    It was a sad day , we and by that I mean alot of us serving our country in afganistein and Iraq listened every day, being all the military personnel don’t have the support of a lot of people in the states, drex always brought up how important it was to have the support . It meant alot to us . So there will be several thousand of us not listening to your radio stations any more .

     
  27. Jazmine

    January 21, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    I am So sad right now Drex In the Morning was what woke me up in the morning everyday when I went to school. This is like a really sad day for Chicago because the new ppl in the morning suck ass and need to be kicked off and The Drex in the morning crew get back on. Period. Kiss fm don’t expect me to be listening to you in the morning ever again. Boycott lol

     
  28. Maria

    January 24, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    I was a devoted listener of 103.5, NOT NO MORE! The Drex Morning Show is dearly missed.

     
  29. Jason

    January 26, 2011 at 7:17 pm

    I will no longer listen to KISS. I really enjoyed their show it was fun and very entertaining. Many times I had to stay in the truck just to hear what they were going to say next. There isn’t a show out there that brings the entertainment that Drex did. Mornings aren’t the same anymore. I appreciate everything he did for the troops and the message he was getting out.

     
  30. quanita

    March 6, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    OMG Drex in the morning was a great show .. I listened every morning. If u did not enjoy the topics he took from his listeners every morning then you were just too up tight or judgemental. Omg for those that said they didnt like the show .. are u lame or just crazy… Drex was the bomb..Those were great and originals topics that mostly everybody, that i know either had thought about or heard about. Drex really made conversations at the workplace. I also liked Mel T alot.. Omg her laugh was great.. Angie was ok but too opinionated for me.. another thing i love about Mel is that she may be broke now that she is jobless.. but she’s a very loyal person and for that, she will make it. Now i dont even turn to the station.. It is so damn boring and its a shame… clear channel need to bring them back like the viewers brought back the “Game” (tv show ) or find some dam good replacements ASAP

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 870 other followers

