RSS

DO CHICAGO KISS LISTENER’S, WANT DREX BACK?

11 Jan

DO YOU WANT DREX BACK?

DREX FANS, I have read your comments and see your overwhelming love for Drex.  Not sure if this will help, but if you really want to see him back on the air in Chicago, you should start a movement.  As you all know, Drex was abruptly fired from Kiss 103.5, and is no longer on the air in Chicago.

If you agree, Drex should be on Chicago radio, post your comments here.  You never know if you will be heard, and at the very least, Drex may actually read them and find some comfort during this difficult time.  Unfortunately, he was unable to bid farewell on the air, so this could be his final farewell party!

Starting today, post your comments on this blog, and I will keep you updated; if anyone is listening to Kiss 103.5 Drex Fans!  ADD YOUR COMMENTS ALL WEEK!  DID YOU LIKE BROTHA FRED?  DO YOU WANT DREX BACK?

NEW UPDATES! http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/brotha-fred-left-fights-behind/ AND http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/02/27/brotha-fred-is-listening-new-kiss-fm-dj-loving-chicago/

NEW MORNING SHOW BEGINS TOMORROW…http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/kiss-radio-brotha-fred-begins-tomorrow-is-he-ready/

 
61 Comments

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in Radio News

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

61 responses to “DO CHICAGO KISS LISTENER’S, WANT DREX BACK?

  1. Nancy cullinan

    January 13, 2011 at 7:23 pm

    We need a vote! This is a no brainer!! I’ve deleted the station from my programmed staions!! Sucks!! He’s awesome! They all are!

     
  2. clarence thompson

    January 15, 2011 at 6:18 am

    im 54yrs old & love drexs crew u corporate morns get out of the radio business they have ruined another success its all about egos im sure

     
  3. john throm

    January 15, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    im shock, im from indpls,drive a truck, drive to chicago and look forward to listing to the drex show. now ill listen to miller show, im a republican

     
  4. EP

    January 18, 2011 at 9:21 am

    I refuse to listen to KissFM. Clear Channel took Drex from us! So now I am giving my ratings to B96. I actually got into a text war with Angi this morning after I texted in my support to Drex. Does not surprise me that she would go at it via text. If anyone knows where Drex and Mel are please post, so we can listen to them wherever they go.

     
  5. Laurie

    January 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm

    I was a devoted fan of Drex for 5+ years. I am also not in the usual demographic age of 20-34, because I was an older listener. I loved his show. He made me laugh, and I really enjoyed mornings listening to him and the rest of the crew. I loved how he interacted with listeners. I was so devoted I brought my own lap top with me everyday to work cause my job couldn’t get a radio signal, just so I could listen to the show. Honestly, I have been lost without him. I did give the new show a chance but I have to say honestly, it was awful. Way too much music, not enough talk or laughter. I am listening to Eric and Kathy now. At least they play better music.

     
  6. disappointed

    January 19, 2011 at 1:20 am

    The new morning show stinks! Sorry, I thgt it wld be better since Angle was part of the team but she couldn’t it even make it a success. Drex was awesome and he will never be replaced. Clear channel you made a big mistake. The new morning show has lame boring topics, none that relate to normal listeners and boring music. If I wanted to listen to music in the mornings I’d listen to Pandora. Which is what I will be doing. Brotha Fred go back where you came from Im sure they miss you. Clear channel please get drex back unless you really want your numbers to drop!!

     
  7. Dale

    January 19, 2011 at 9:11 am

    What a shame, I’ve listen to Drex ever since he has been in Chicago. I have removed 103.5 from my radio, the show now sucks. I hope that Drex will come back on the air in Chicago. I will no longer listen to Clearchannel stations anymore, there are plenty of other good stations to listen too.

     
  8. Lala

    January 19, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Angie needed to go from day one I’m not listening to that crap… Angie is always starting arguments via text with listeners that’s inappropriate fire her and loser Fred!

     
    • MayMay

      January 21, 2011 at 8:25 am

      I know she did da same #@#%@ when she was with drex!! I hate dat $#@%!!

       
      • Exkisssupporter

        April 14, 2011 at 4:27 pm

        She’s just a carry no talent cheap hire. Tommy black was more entertaining than her nasely ass voice. And new guy is horrible. Sounds like a gay black kermet the frog. Boring chat now, bad music… They offer nothing my iPod can’t do. But I’m sure they’re talent isn’t expensive. Just get Drex and Mel back on the air somewhere so I can tune back in. Stupid ass move clearchannel!

         
  9. Crystal

    January 19, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    I miss Drex… I was listening to Brother Fred and I am not impressed at all… Drex always kept it interesting and he really cared about his listeners! Bring him back!!!! Guess I’m listening to Fresh 105.9!

     
  10. Christine

    January 19, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    I gave the new show a chance and it is awful! Angie is the only good thing. Too much music; bad music at that. I don’t like the new peoples voices either…just hearing them bothers me. I don’t blame Angie for staying. A girl has got to make a living. Funny that people get in text wars with her! I can totally see that ; )

    I will see how it is the rest of the week…but I pretty sure I will listen to NPR and educate myself rather than have a party in the morning on my way to work like I did before. Drex put me in a good mood…

     
  11. gxp

    January 20, 2011 at 8:36 am

    glad he’s gone. the stuff he talked about was mindless and my brain cells decreased when I heard him talk about stupid stuff. real dork.

     
    • Joyce Gielas

      January 28, 2011 at 3:13 pm

      so do u

       
  12. Elvia

    January 20, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Really? This new so called morning show with Brotha Fred is awful. They are not talking about anything I want to listen and I definitely don’t need to listen to all that music in the morning. I have my IPOD for that. I have stopped listening to 103.5. Bring Drex back!! I always looked forward to the mornings with him as he knew how to brighten up the day and make everyone laugh. If having Brotha Fred on is a test to see if we ask for Drex back, well it is working. WE WANT DREX BACK and Mel T! Once that happens I will switch back to 103.5.

     
  13. ZU

    January 20, 2011 at 1:08 pm

    I usually don’t post comments. But, I’m bothered that Drex and Mel-T are off da radio. This new crew does suck, especially Angie T! She has no radio voice. Corporate sucks, all in all they never listen to da people. DA BEARS!!!

     
  14. Yeni

    January 20, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    DREX HAS TO COME BACK! i personally never liked angie taylor..and mel t and drex are too awesome to be out!! noooo..its all gonna go downhill from now on because i will no longer listen to kiss fm..! the topics were written by the listeners for the listeners! FOR THE LISTENERS! now there will be no more..im out! Drex and Mel T! where are you??? :( come back!

     
  15. MayMay

    January 21, 2011 at 8:23 am

    Well I dnt think Drex wud evn come back if he was fired abrubtly,evn if they wanted him back he’d tell em f off.i want him n mel t back.103.5 doess not sound da same.dat lame ass fred talks bout stupid shit and angie taylor is on da show too I think cuz dat chick dats w him soounds like her.
    I nevr liked dat chick.n I hope drex n mel t erased her frm their lives! Mel t is loyal to drex n respect her for walkin out on kiss fm
    wherevr they go I hope they go together n they will b successful cuz them two knw how to relate to their listeners! Luv you guys! Pls post if you find em on a station in chicago.i hope mel t dnt go bak to tx.

     
  16. Blanca

    January 21, 2011 at 11:44 am

    DREX I MISSSSS YOU!!!!!!! I will never listen to 103.5 Kiss Fm ever ever again. HUGE HUGE MISTAKE Clear Channel has made in firing Drex and Mel-T. My morning drive to work is never going to be the same again. Drex and Mel-T were awesome and the topics were great. I was a huge fan for 5 years and I’m so sad I won’t be listening to them anymore! Love you Drex!!! Drex Please inform us your fans which station you willl be going to. I’ll will be faithfully waiting to hear you on the radio soon again. But for now I will be listening to Eric and Kathy or whatever on the radio but NEVER 103.5 Fiss FM again!!!!!

     
  17. Nancy

    January 21, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    The only reason I listened in was for drex and Mel T other then that kiss sucks… How annoying the Fred Guy sounds like Howard stern.. Most def a new low for kiss…

     
  18. 103.5 now sucks!!!!

    January 22, 2011 at 6:54 am

    The BIGGEST!!!!!!!! Mistake they made getting rid of drex and then try to replace him with whats his name……… Who cares really. Where is drex bring him back. No more 103.5 for me. Drex wherever u r I miss u let us know where u r.

     
  19. 103.5 Morning show SUXXXXXX!!!!

    January 22, 2011 at 11:26 pm

    Seriously?? This is the crap they expect us to listen to? Angi sounds lost – Brotha Fred irritates me with his oh so I love Chicago baloney…dude, you’ve been here what? A month? Get real. Yea, I know Drex was a tranplant too, but at least he made Chicago his home after a respectable amount of time! The music sux! They played the same song 3 times in one hour!! (Katy Perry Firework, I mean, I like the song, but not that much!!)
    So here I am – back in the Eric & Kathy gang…it’s better than this Brotha Fred crap. Hope you like getting buried in the ratings Clear Channel – you screwed up MAJOR!!

     
  20. Jen

    January 23, 2011 at 1:37 pm

    Yes I want Drex back! The show SUCKS without him! Trying to find out wtf happened to the man – how did this happen anyway??

     
  21. Stefanie

    January 24, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I MISS DREX!! The morning show is horrible now! It’s NOT funny or entertaining! It is sooo boring. I used to listen every morning with thousands of people and now I am sure we are all so sad and angry to see Drex is gone! I am listening to 96.3 these days because at least its better then this new guy they hired! Please Please come back Drex!

     
  22. RDW

    January 25, 2011 at 11:50 am

    Today I finally decided to see what was up and where DreX went. I didn’t know he had been fired. I’ve listened to that morning show since I moved to Chicago…it was the most entertaining. DreX annoyed me at times but I LOVED the show. Now that I know he isn’t coming back there’s no reason for me to turn that station on in the mornings. Sorry Brotha’ your show SUCKS!!!

     
  23. Brotha?' Really?!

    January 25, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I checked out the new guy’s radio show the other day, and I have to mirror what everybody else has said! It was not entertaining, and they mainly played a lot of that crappy top 40 music, which I can’t stand! I MISS DREX!!! I Loved hearing the listeners calling in with their crazy stories, and Drex, with his naughty sense of humor! He was great at his job. I did get annoyed by his voice from time to time, like some other listeners have said. What bothers me the most is that this clown calls himself “Brotha’ Fred!” Brotha’…?!?! This Caucasian man is no brotha! If i were African American I’d be busting out with laughter at that fact! Drex appealed to minorities and had black listeners ’cause he was a minority, being a gay man. I remember a man called in one time, and said “black people love drex!” It’s very amusing that this preppy looking white guy from the South has that as his Radio nickname! He probably thinks that will pull in the black and hispanic demographic… Well, think again, FOOL!!! I wanna hear about Sugar the horse, and have a La Charanga for old time’s sake! BRING BACK DREX AND THE MORNING PARTY!!! Drex, if you read this, know that Chicago loves and misses you!

     
  24. MIKE

    January 26, 2011 at 11:26 am

    I mean does Kiss’s retarded management even care what people want to hear ? I know the only way Kiss will ever be on in my car or radio is if Drex is back. Other wise i hope Kiss FM goes bankrupt or something worse . Here’s to the best radio host ever !! Good luck man – I feel for ya .

     
  25. Marie

    January 26, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    I love and miss DreX, Mel, Angie, and Tommy!!!!!!!!
    I loved lisenting to them on the way to work, getting ready for work, when I in the shower (I know TMI) I never had a bad when I got to listen to them.
    I HATE KISS FM NOW, I WILL NEVER LISTEN TO THEM AGAIN!!!!!!!!!
    I WANT MORNING CREW BACK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  26. Robert Ure

    January 27, 2011 at 6:54 am

    Have left 103.5. Loyal listener. Last 5 years. Switched to B-96. Bring Drex, Mel T and Angie back if you want me back.

     
  27. Ayla

    January 27, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    No longer a listener of Kiss!!

     
  28. danirami

    January 28, 2011 at 5:53 am

    I need my DREX in the morning, BOOOOOOOOOO!

     
  29. Elley

    January 28, 2011 at 10:51 am

    I will not be listening to 103.5 anymore. Drex was the only reason why I tuned in. I listened to the new radio guy that has replaced him and I didn’t care for his radio voice off the bat so I won’t be tuning in anymore. Guess 96.3 and other stations will be getting more listeners now. If I owned 103.5 I would bring drex back!

     
  30. Joyce Johnson

    January 28, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    MISS YOU DREX, BEEN LISTENING TO THE PODCAST, SINCE WE CAN’T HAVE YOU. GOOGLE DREX PODCAST & U CAN HEAR THE OLD SHOW & HOW FANTASTIC IT REALLY WAS!!!!!

     
  31. maggie taylor

    February 3, 2011 at 2:08 am

    miss you drex please come back to chicago

     
  32. Andrii Iakymenko

    February 4, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    We need Drex and Mel-T back!!!!!!!!!!!! I will not be listening to 103.5 anymore..

     
  33. Bob

    February 7, 2011 at 9:23 am

    Why listen to the lowest common denominator? Angi– I don’t know if she’s trying to play stupid to make us “common-people” feel better about ourselves, or if she really has her head up her ever-growing ass. It’s hilarious to see white people try to be down and that show is funny in how bad it is. Drex, pa-lease!

     
  34. brenna

    February 9, 2011 at 10:33 am

    Such a bummer!!! My commute is so sad without Drex. I’m sorry but Brotha Fred is terrible! I keep trying but get frustrated and turn it off! He is a total celebrity whore! And his topics suck! He doesn’t relate to everyday people. And he really pissed me off when he talked about weather or not woman should breast feed in public a few weeks ago??? WTF??? Seriously?? He shouldn’t make woman feel like it’s a bad thing to be doing. Such an idiot. And really who cares that you dated Emily from the bachelor!! She went out with him for what 2 seconds?? Stop talking about yourself!

    I want Drex back :(

     
  35. MB

    February 24, 2011 at 9:51 am

    Brotha’ Fred is a take on irony. If you couldn’t figure that out for yourself, then I feel incredibly bad for you. “It’s hilarious to see white people try to be down,” is on the verge of a racist comment. If I, as a white male, had said something similar, only regarding African American’s, I’d have the NAACP all over my ass. Grow up people. It’s an entertaining show. You’re so used to your routines, and tradition that you can’t properly give the new show a fair chance. I guarantee day one most of you turned the dial because you ‘didn’t like it.’ So, my dear friends, lighten up, accept change, and give the show a proper chance. Please do continue to support Drex, but don’t simply hate on something because it’s new.

     
  36. bandito

    March 3, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    i’m black, I get the whole Brotha Fred being white thing, it’s still corny. wait..there are men who sit through Britney and Katy Perry songs everyday to hear 3 30 plus yr olds debate if Lady Gaga is an act or not…wow. Just wow. David L. had cliched black comedian jokes, and Fred came off like a fratboy in a bad snl bit. Angi’s never really been funny. the convo isn’t worth sitting through the god awful kiss fm playlist.

     
  37. alberto

    March 31, 2011 at 1:45 pm

    This show sucks ever since drex left. I really miss being able to have actual talk radio in the morning. Drex was awsome and I will have to defend Angie a little, she did what she had to do to keep her job for herself and kid so I can’t hate on her but I miss the hole gang. I am now listening to q101 Sherman and Tingle which atleast they are funny but just wish it would be more talk like on drex but I guess ill just have to deal. Bring him back please.

     
  38. Brenda

    April 16, 2011 at 9:11 am

    Bring Drex back, I have not found a decent morning show since. I have boycotted Kiss FM and do not listen to them since Drex was let go.

     
  39. Roger

    April 18, 2011 at 7:56 pm

    It stinks that Drex hasn’t come back yet!!!!
    I still miss his show….

     
  40. lauren

    May 9, 2011 at 9:55 am

    I miss Drex and Mel!!! My ride is not nearly as enjoyable :( I don’t like the new morning show and am upset with how the execs at kiss handled the whole situation. They’ve lost me as a listener. Now listening to NPR. I wish Drex and Mel T luck- I think they are so talented and hilarious and would love to listen to them again if they end up on a station in Chi.

     
  41. Alex

    May 9, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    I travel for my job and enjoy years of listening to Dex and Mel via website. I MISS THEM BIG TIME! Nothing to look forward to an keep in touch with home when one is on the road.
    I wont even listen to the station and have deleted it off my car radio. Drex was always had a joy in his voice that perked up my day. BRING HIM BACK!!!

     
  42. Dan

    May 25, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Well 103.5 is out.Has been out and will stay out. I guess Eric and Kathy 101.9 is what I’ll be listening to from now on. Clear Channel You Suck !!!!
    I keep searching the internet looking for a station that may have pick up Drex and Mel T. So far I am unsuccessful. If I find Drex out there in Cyber Space I’ll post the station here.
    Good Luck Drex and Mel T. At least your not with that dim wit Angie anymore,or that moron Fred whatever.
    Gosh there not even funny for cryin out loud ! BORING

     
  43. lovedrex

    July 6, 2011 at 8:47 pm

    I love Drexxx Come Back -refuse to listen to boring talk Brother Fred

     
  44. lovedrex

    July 6, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    SOMEONE PLEASE TELL ME WHERE I CAN LISTEN TO DREX I’VE BEEN SEARCHING FOR MONTHS – if u know please reply I miss La Charanga if ur with me like this comment

     
    • brittaj

      July 6, 2011 at 9:08 pm

      No word from Drex so far! Not sure where he is at this time. Sorry…

       
  45. dianne

    August 2, 2011 at 3:36 pm

    all i listen to is old drex shows from itunes….i need new drex

     
  46. adam

    September 26, 2011 at 5:10 pm

    where is drex now.i love his show more talk in the morning then music,people like to listen to talk shows early in the morning and not music,bring drex back.

     
  47. Sam

    October 4, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    WHERE IS HE NOW?!?!?!? I would LOVE to listen to him on I heart radio if he’s still on air somewhere.

     
  48. Laura

    October 18, 2011 at 10:35 am

    It has been tooo long. DREX was just a great morning show for my commute, that lasts over an hour.
    Chicago is a great radio city, there is something for everyone to listen to. However, this slot is vaccant. Sorry to say. The Drex in the morning show, in Chicago was unique, fun, upbeat, human, and sometimes off the rails. And, that is why it worked!!! I miss that while driving.
    So, Kevin (Drex)
    You need to receive this hug and know how missed you are. And i’ll keep listening for you. :)

     
  49. Nancy

    January 9, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    Without Drex there is no 103.5 for me. I looked forward to hearing him! So sad. I hope this does hurt the stations popularity, enough so to bring him back. Of course Drex probably wouldn’t want to go back there. If he gets on a new station(which I hope he does), let us know so we can all tune it. I pray it is still in our listening area!

    Nancy

     
    • brittaj

      January 9, 2012 at 6:11 pm

      Nancy,
      Drex had a lot of fans, so I am constantly checking to see where he lands. If I find him, my blog will certainly have an update! The blog about his departure received huge views…so many are awaiting his return, just like you:). Thanks for the comment.

       
      • Laura

        January 11, 2012 at 9:40 am

        Angie is like a fish out of water with the “New Guy”. Horrible! DREX. YOU are the Best! Chicagos Loss. What a stupid move… I posted on October 18th. Stll nothing to listen to on the regular radio. Thank God for satelite radio. My morning drive is a long one. So many others can relate.
        Laura

         
  50. Teresa LoGiudice

    April 23, 2012 at 8:18 am

    It has been a year or more and I’m still missing Drex. Does anyone know if he’s on a paid radio station? Not letting him bid farewell to his fans was completely classless of clear channel.

     
  51. sherry

    August 3, 2012 at 8:53 am

    All I can say is they lost a loyal fan when they fired Drex.. He is an wonderful Radio announcer and I loved his topics and enjoyed hearing his views on every subject. I haven’t listened to the station and won’t unless he returns !!

     
    • Laura

      August 5, 2012 at 3:02 pm

      Hey There, I posted in January of this year. I still miss the morning show Drex put out there. UGH my drive is brutal and long from the suburbs into the city… I now have Sirius XM. Cosmo Radio is entertaining. I hunt for Drex. I’ve tried to listen to Angie again and not listen to Brotha Fred. Can’t do it. It just plain sucks. Sorry KISS. Its not good. Drex had a soul. Like it or not, we listeners connected with Him.

       
  52. Karl

    September 6, 2012 at 10:53 pm

    Angie SUCKS brotha Fred is awful!!!! Morning commute sucks now!!!!!!!!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 870 other followers

