RSS

FLORIDA WOMAN SHOOTS HER TEENAGE KIDS, FOR BEING “MOUTHY” – JAN 2011

29 Jan

PHOTO PROVIDED BY ALL VOICES

A woman has lost her mind in Tampa, Florida.  Julie Powers Schenecker was arrested for shooting her two teenage children Calyx Powers Schenecker,16, and Powers Beau Schenecker, 13.  They were “allegedly” shot and killed by their mother on Thursday, for “misbehaving”. The 50-year-old, Schenecker, was arrested on Friday after the police were called to her house where they found her on the back porch covered in blood.  It was reported that the POLICE were so upset at the bloody scene, they had to receive counseling.According to the reports, as she drove her son to soccer practice he was causing a disturbance in the back seat, so she pulled over and shot him twice in the head.  Upon returning home Julie went to her daughter’s room and shot her in the face as she sat at her computer.

During her arrest, Schenecker told police that she shot them for “being mouthy”.  The premeditation of these murders was a letter written by Schenecker saying “they talked back and were mouthy and that she was going to take care of it”. Her son’s body was found the next day, still in the SUV that was parked in the garage and her daughter was found on the floor of her bedroom.

Schenecker’s mother called the police from Texas, after not being able to contact her daughter and told them she suffering from depression. The police then notified the father, Parker Schenecker, who had been away for a few days in Qatar, for his military work.  He was so shaken the police had to calm him after relaying the news.

Schenecker has been charged with two counts of first-degree murder. Shooting both children with a .38-caliber pistol. Investigators think the teens “never saw it coming” which means they probably died instantly.  This is not yet confirmed.

They apparently were a “model family” so neighbor’s were shocked to hear the news.  So now what?  Do we go back to allowing parents to whip their kids in public without calling the police?  Would this ensure it does not get to this point.  Are guns still a good idea to let citizen’s carry?  Not sure, but I know she must have been at wit’s end to kill her kids.

ANOTHER FLORIDA SHOOTING 5/15/12…READ THE NEWS NOW!  MOM’S GO CRAZY!

VIDEO FOOTAGE: http://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/01/31/florida-woman-shoots-her-kids-video-footage/

 

 
36 Comments

Posted by on January 29, 2011 in HEADLINE NEWS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

36 responses to “FLORIDA WOMAN SHOOTS HER TEENAGE KIDS, FOR BEING “MOUTHY” – JAN 2011

  1. Christiane Schwartz

    January 31, 2011 at 8:08 am

    I believe that the situation could of been prevented. We have four children and at times it is hard to keep them under control. The most important thing is, that we KEEP our word, when it comes to punishing the children as well when we do something fun. We do spank but they also KNOW that we love them very much. We spend time together and let them know how much they mean to us. It is a matter of giving and taking and not to teach the children to take everything for granted. That is the key. They have to help in the house and do chores. We have big debates at times but the ground rule is, that my husband and I are in control of the children and if they don’t behave they have to deal with the consequences. We are the foundation of the family and got to stick together and if the husband is gone many times it makes things very very hard. We are alone with a couple of teenagers and sometimes feel overwhelmed. Nobody is there to help and as a mother, it seems like that there are more and more obligations to do for the kids. But what is with the mother ? We supposed to keep running from one place to another. It is getting too much. We need to be home more often and spend personal time with the children instead of running to ballet, socker, boxing …….. ect. We are driving ourselve crazy and then wonder why we are burned out.
    I feel horrible for the children, for the father but also for the mother. She must of been not herself and this is awful. I think people say, this will NEVER happen to them but I am sure it can happen to all of us.

     
  2. Lakisha Hayes

    January 31, 2011 at 9:26 am

    I do not agree with this, She was definetley wrong and probably a lot crazy in the head. But I can see how she could snap I have 3 boys one Teenager he is 14 and he is mouthy he mumbles under his breath cause certainly would never have the balls to say anything out loud and to my face, He never does what he is told, And he is always rolling his eyes. Like the old saying goes I brought u in this world and I will take u out. I would never Kill any of my children as much as they drive me crazy I will never do or let anyone else do anything to harm them but I can see how this lady snapped cause if every parent is honest they have thought about it. I pray for this family I pray for their loved ones cause no one won in this situation.

     
    • Brenda Wallace

      January 31, 2011 at 7:26 pm

      Lakisha, you are correct. Every parent has had this thought.. And I too had a mother who use too tell me” I bought you in this world and I will take you out’. And let me include this to, when my mother told me this, she had me pinned up on the wall, I was a mouthy teen-ager, and just like she told, when you have a family of your own you will understand wahat I’m talking about.. And mother is always right I did find out. So I had to command respect with my children at a very early age, I ‘ve told them “I bought you too town you didn’t bring me” I gave my kids a very crazy look at a very young age, got them together… Parents must take control like right-now, if not this will not be the last story that we hear on this type of situation…. Peace!

       
      • Lynn W

        February 1, 2011 at 10:23 am

        I don’t agree with that! All children are a gift and are born with a measure of mischef. But, I never entertained the thought of harming them even if it meant making “statements such as I bought you here and I’ll take you out.” My children now ages 14 and 27 know that I had and have complete control based on values instilled in them “while they were young,” in addition to that discipline was accompanied by the rod of correction. Time out is what our parents did after they finished using the rod of correction. My heart goes out to the family, because once she comes to realize what she has done the pain of her loss will be much greater than the depression.

         
    • Davey Jones

      July 18, 2011 at 2:25 pm

      Wow thought about killing your kids?? Maybe beating them. This is a little messed up.

       
      • Marsha

        December 7, 2011 at 12:26 pm

        This will make me sound like a horrible mother. But there are days where between working from home and raising my 9 month old baby and having to keep her quiet so daddy can sleep for night shift. Needing to still cook clean shower and such. That when she is being especially grouchy i sometimes had horrible thoughts. I wanted to spank her or shake her or even smother her. The thoughts actually made me break down a couple times because I felt like the worse human being. I would often put her in her crib and take 10 minutes to regroup. However I never raised a hand to her. I called my doctor and told him what was going on and that I was afraid one day i may actually hurt her. He introduced me to a moms play day group at a hospital. Each monday (all volunteer this was not mandated just recommended) I would go with my baby and we let the kids play and we just talked about where our kids were and their milestones. Some times about our grievences, thats how I learned that my thoughts were not something i would act on and I was not the only person to be overwhelmed. Being around like mothers with the same struggles gave me the patience, understanding and courage to realize it was natural the thoughts I was having but that I was not capable to act on them and it would be ok because I was strong enough to give my self 10 minutes, readjust and deal with the tantrum. I wish that woman had, what i had. Just a group of moms to talk to so you knew you weren’t alone. Its sick what she did, she needed help.

         
      • brittaj

        December 7, 2011 at 7:05 pm

        Marsha,

        We all get stressed at some point or another…it is just good that you reached out for help. If you ever get at the brink, keep asking for help. An innocent baby should never be hurt…take deep breaths and hopefully you can get through it.

         
  3. Priscilla Lebednikas

    January 31, 2011 at 9:54 am

    I think ,she possibly had some psych issues prior to all of this,sometimes family members and friends over look behaviors,because they don’t understand.They may think some behavior is different,but don’t associate it with psychosis.You don’t wake up one morning and you are psychotic,it is something that shows signs over a period
    of time.anyone that has a friend or family member that is acting strange needs to pay
    attention,document behavior,as it changes.maybe they can get help before something tragic happens.

     
  4. Bob

    January 31, 2011 at 11:12 am

    She was a whackjob already. Who names a kid Calyx Powers, and then reuses the name Powers for the other kid. Those 5 days must have been hell for her, having to wait for her kid to do something, so she could rationalize shooting them in her own mind. Probably was one of those sparing the rod from her angelic children who never did anything wrong (from her own perspective), until their behavior was too set to change. Either that or the kids were just normal and hse wasn’t and she couldn’t see that. Either way the crazy lady snapped.

     
  5. Terri Heisele

    January 31, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    I have raised one child to {currently age 29}, and I have an 11 year old
    and a 10 year old. NEVER….NEVER…in the worst moments of parenthood…have
    I had a time I would even THINK of bodily harm directed at my kids!
    Maybe some people reach a point, some can understand…but I am UNABLE to.

    I will say this: what a Damned shame she was unable to COMPLETE the job when
    it came to HER TURN to face the BAD SIDE of the gun!
    Everybody that feels PITY for this TRASH…think about it LOGICALLY: she had time to
    PLOT and CARRY THIS OUT! She bought a gun IN ADVANCE< planning to KILL HER KIDS!
    Poor woman….RIGHT! Let me finish what she started….I'd crush her head under a fat rock.

     
    • jesse rash

      February 3, 2011 at 3:47 am

      right on

       
  6. Brenda Wallace

    January 31, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    Well, like my dear Mother { GOD rest her soul} told me when I was very mouthy” I bought you in this world and I will take you out. It’s to early for me too form an opinion. We do not know what was on that Mothers mind, but I will tellyou this; it was pretty damn bad for her to go too this extreme.. And i have witness with my own two eyes children getting smart and fighting with their parents.. Showing NO RESPECT.. The BIBLE says spare the child spoil the rod.. And it was common in biblical days for a parent too kill their kids. Although I would not kill mine, due to they know respect, but we have not walked in this woman’s shoes. And if pushed far enough no human can say what they will or will not do.. It’s a sad situation for everyone involved. Cleary, no one wins.

     
    • Lol fail

      February 3, 2011 at 9:23 pm

      Spare the rod, spoil the child. That’s the real quote.

      Also, you’re crazy.

       
  7. Maggie

    January 31, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    I am not a parent myself, but i could see how i made my mom and dad crazy when i was younger and probably still do at times. My parents were both alcoholics so its safe to say I got my fair share of spankings, but thats what parents are suppose to do. You spoil your pets not your kids or they will grow up to be want want want little brats and everyone has met atleast one person who was never spanked or told no during their childhood. No one knows if they disiplined these kids or not but one thing is for sure the woman obviously is very sick or disturbed. Either way my heart goes out for dad.

     
  8. Debra

    February 3, 2011 at 12:48 pm

    I am a mother of 3 children, 2 boys and a girl, the boys are 25 and 19 years old and the girl is 16 years old. they have pretty mouthy to me, using foul language, but i never thougt of harming them, i have been tempted to slap them, but resisted. I love my children and let them know every chance i get.

     
  9. Tyronia Jones

    February 3, 2011 at 8:56 pm

    This a very unfortunate event. I pray that God has mercy on this womans soul. However she needs to be held at the highest penalty. I don’t care how depressed she was, it does not call for her to take her children’s life. I have children and sure they sometimes are defient and it upsets me but killing them literally is ridiculous and down right psychotic! My deepest sympathy to the father and family. Something this tragic somebody in the family or close to them had to foresee something was wrong with this woman. The grandmother or the father should have got her help. She did not just wake up and do this. It was events and pre-meditations of thoughts leading to this.
    On another note people are talking about parents spanking their kids in public, should people call the police? Starting calling the police when people have their kids on leashes walking through the stores. I personally think walking a child on a leash is a form of abuse, it’s entrapment and its degrading. It bothers me to watch it. If parents take the time and raise their kids with proper decorum, children will know how to act in public.

     
  10. Miesha

    February 5, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    I think Julie is crazy for taking the lives of her kids.Julie should have just whipped her two young teenagers instead of killing them.Julie is probably a crazy woman didn’t need to earn kids.

     
  11. jacqueline

    February 5, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    i am a mother of 5 children all under the age of 7, life sometimes becomes very hectic for me but i would never ever think of killing my babies! but in all reality we need to look at this for what it is people this ladys husband is in the military which means he was probably gone for along time many times, and she was left alone to deal with life alone and already suffered from depression . We as humans need affection and love and support and maybe she didnt feel this. some people dont take mental illness seriously and this is something that needs to be addressed and treated asap to avoid these kind of tragic things.

     
  12. BRENT

    February 6, 2011 at 11:15 am

    From the look of the postings it would appear that people are expeirencing a lot of frustration with child rearing and the constraints placed upon them by society. I think this story is more about mental health and the lack of options for middle class families. In a tea party era where its every man woman and child for themselves, I sense we will be witness to more of these slayings. The woman’s mother claimed her daughter was sufffering from depression no amount of corporal punishment is going to fill that gaping hole in her life. People are barely able to put food on the table , they feel the pressure to provide for there children things a generation ago that were expected , but now are no longer possible, two parents have to work, managing a family push a person in to a dark corner in there mind. Who can help these desperate people, who can we call to treat them, the shooting of a U.S. congresswoman to some extent was mistakenly politicized, but we have to understand what is right beneath our noses, these people need help but cant afford it and have no access to it.

     
  13. Emory Holcomb

    February 6, 2011 at 11:30 am

    This mother was totally wrong in what she did but I believe that the nation needs to get their head out of their rear-ends and allow parents to phsycially discipline their children again. There is a reason that kids these days talk back more and run all over their parents, the parents can’t do anything about it. Talking doesn’t work on every kid and nor does time out or taking things away. Our military has suffered as well as our families because proper discipline isn’t being conducted because parent’s don’t want their kids taken away and don’t want to go to jail. It is complete retarded how wimpy our nation has become in the pursuit of nicer methods of doing things. There are just some things that can’t be done nicely, raising a child is one of those things. It is times like these that I wish the South would’ve won the war. And don’t say Florida is the south, it is the North’s retirement home.

     
    • Really?

      April 15, 2011 at 9:59 pm

      You don’t need to physically harm your children to make them behave. All that teaches is violence and how to lie to get out of punishment. Be the person you want your children to be.

       
  14. makayla

    March 25, 2011 at 11:58 am

    this lady is crazy instead of killing her kids at least send them to military school and if that don’t work then just get rid of em’ she needs help!!!

     
  15. Celeste

    April 10, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    My God, this could be me right now. How do you know when you’ve reached the end of your tether, how you can know that you will go off the edge of the brink of your sanity? I have a mentally handicapped son with bipolar disorder and the constant taunting, calling me a bad mother and everything else you can think of under the sun, constantly for 22 years has made something snap inside of me. There is no help here for me with his care at home. If my husband didn’t calm me down, I would have gone at him with a baseball bat. I can’t take it anymore.

     
    • brittaj

      April 10, 2011 at 5:13 pm

      Celeste, I understand your feelings. It is hard dealing with children, especially those who constantly abuse you as a parent. However, many people are on the brink every day for an array of reasons. It is best to remember, life is short and be gone in a blink of an eye, so don’t sweat the small stuff (or big). Your son has been diagnosed with a disorder, but many kids treat their parents with disrespect and they have no excuse. So keep your head up and take it one day at a time, and hopefully you will make it through the rough patches.

       
  16. natassja

    April 19, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    thats booooggggguuuuuusssss why wud she du tht crazii ladii

     
  17. phoenix59

    July 2, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    wow…regarding children on leashes, my mother (b. 1943) was a leash baby and both my now 21 year old daughter and 29 year old son were leash babies to my daughter’s dismay. both were early walkers,11 months(her) and nine months (him) so it was hard for me to hold their hand without one of us, being uncomfortable and risking pulling an arm out of socket.. also i was able to look away if needed without fear of my child dashing away and possibly getting hurt, killed or lost. i have pictures of my son with his harness on during his first birthday and he is ALL SMILES and loving life. it’s part of old fashioned methods i chose in rearing my little ones that included using cloth diapers, breastfeeding,swaddling,making my own baby food and carrying them against my heart or on my back. maybe that’s why i developed a strong bond with my children. i didn’t beat them but occasionally applied pressure to their backsides. i hate to admit it but once during a heated argument,my then 14 year old daughter tried to slap my face and i blocked her hand and punched her in the eye with one fluid motion. she missed a few days of school until her black eye healed but she learned a valuable lesson.. don’t make me take you out! my son at age 12, bucked up against me and lashed out to hit and faced my fist of fury with a punch that knocked him into the book shelf, where numerous books tumbled onto his head. that’s the worse i ever had to do to either of them. because that was enough to let them know the cardinal rule, “i brought you in this world, and i will take you out”..my daughter was still mouthy and wild until she turned 18 and i informed her i would have no more of her shenanigans. i stuck to my word and my age 19 she became respectful and appreciative of all i sacrificed to raise her alone. it’s a reflection of society children killing parents,parents killing children, children killing other children….i think it’s the individual’s choice to spank or not but i always retained the option to spank ANY child under my care, whether or not their parents spanked them..just the threat of that option either 1) relieved me of having to babysit or kept any child from acting up. either way the problem was solved. i wouldn’t be surprised if she was an overindulgent, lenient, non spanking parent who snapped under the weight of the monsters she created…..

     
    • sffanatic1

      January 1, 2012 at 7:06 am

      Wow I started reading the first few comments and omg, where the heck are you from and I thino their should be a law against some people reproducing. Know one should understand at all how this crazy psychopath did what she did. Don’t care if she brought them into this because its MURDER to take them out. Know body knows how they were or were not punished, but a military family is probably doing the right things. This lady just lost it. Completely bankers. And the poor father who sadly has to live on knowing his wife took his.children’s lives. How bad could. They have been one was to soccer the other was doing her homework, there are kids out there who would tell their parents to go to smell I’m not doing my homework peace out as they hit the streets smoke, drink, and party. You weak minded parents need a reality if u have the though of killing your kids. This lady I’m sure had it easy compared to a lot of single parents, scraping along trying to raise 1, 2, 3 ,4 or more children and doing a great job and the others who have problem children, would die before killing them. It doesn’t take a rocket scientist to make a baby, or take one out. So stop being ignorant fools, no one has the right to take anyone out. Except the law and death penalty, which not sure but if its used in Florida then it should be up to the family of the victims to see if it should be pursued. And when that lady goes to prison shell probably, hopefully see what back talk and bad kids really become and how wonderful her kids were.

       
  18. Jennifer

    May 2, 2014 at 12:13 pm

    Ya the comments In the beginning are nuts! I spank my child when he misbehaves, but only after he has had fair warning! I would never think about killing my son! If I couldn’t handle him I’d have someone else take over! I have no pity for this bitch! She should be tortured! Just like proven pedifiles! They need to be tortured! The only thing that scares me is that this case happened in fl! Fl has a history of letting guilty go!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 869 other followers

