RSS

BEWARE OF RENTAL SCAM, RUFUS SPARKS IS BACK!

25 Jan

Renter’s BEWARE! Scam artist Rufus Sparks has resurfaced.  A friend told me about a scam which happened last week to her relative, so listen up to make sure it does not happen to you.

Her relative found a home he wanted to rent in Chicago, and met the man who supposedly owned the home.  He was showed the home after setting an appointment with Rufus Sparks.  After viewing the home, he decided he wanted to rent it so after the nod from Sparks, he deposited $1800 IN CASH.  When the conversation with Sparks later got suspicious, he asked his aunt to research the property.  To her amazement, the property was in foreclosure and Sparks was NOT listed as the owner.  When her nephew called Sparks back and questioned him, the deal got shady, and he requested his deposit back.  Of course, that did not happen and now Sparks has vanished.

Learn a lesson from his misfortune, he is now out of $1800 and a home to live.  If you are considering renting a home, be careful, better yet, use a real estate agent.  This could save you heartache and aggravation.  And just so you know, he changes his name from time-to-time.  KEEP AN EYE OUT FOR RUFUS SPARKS, HE IS ON THE PROWL FOR INNOCENT VICTIMS. Sparks is a loser, and I hope he is caught.  In researching it more, I found below story, which shows he has been doing this for a long time!

If you come in contact with him, please call your local police department, let’s catch Rufus!

Update:  Rufus Sparks was arrested at the end of January!  His scam ended when a citizen who he previously scammed, informed police of his location…of course he was in the middle of swindling another victim. Good job Mr. Informer!

P.s. Remember…Rufus Sparks is considered innocent until found guilty, so I guess he “allegedly” is a scam artist.

WATCH VIDEO TO PROTECT YOURSELF! https://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2011/01/25/rufus-sparks-scam-how-to-avoid-it-video/

READ SPARKS PAST BELOW-PROVIDED BY:  http://www.marinacityonline.com/news/news2009-1.htm

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 25, 2011 in Britta's SCOOP

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “BEWARE OF RENTAL SCAM, RUFUS SPARKS IS BACK!

  1. ipropertydk

    June 2, 2011 at 4:29 am

    I am 100% agreed with you. Mostly people have nontechnical background that’s why they don’t know what is right and what is worng , mean to say they don’t know about the right property aent, If a person guide them , may be a cheater. So make assure that you are license holder property agent. I recommended that a property deal is difficult to understand without a property agent.

     
  2. Marcus Walker

    March 3, 2012 at 8:57 am

    Hello. A few years ago I had an encounter with rufus. I have been trying to find him for years, I was partially part of a scam he tried to pull on me. I did lose money. I reported him to the city but nothing ever came of it. I would LOVE to help see him pay for his bad deeds. Is there anymore information I can find on his trial or court cases?

     
    • brittaj

      March 3, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Marcus, I am sorry to hear this happened to you. It has not been easy to find any new updates, but I will search again. Apparently, he uses many different names, so that may be why. Hopefully he pays for his scam…not sure how he sleeps at night!

       
  3. Twana Payton

    March 22, 2012 at 8:48 am

    Marcus, Rufus Sparks is currently in Cook County jail on 26th and California.. He has been there since January of last year.. He also scammed me for $3000 plus and I am trying to get my money back.. I check the site http://www.cookcountysheriff.org frequently and just found out his no bond has been set to a $2000 bond. I am trying to see how I can go by suing this idiot. If anyone has information on how I can do this while he is still in jail, please let me know..

     

Leave a Reply

 
