RSS

(VIDEO) PRINCE WELCOME 2 CHICAGO 2012 CONCERT REVIEW; DAY 2 BRINGS JENNIFER HUDSON; LEAVES FANS AMAZED & ANGRY

27 Sep

The amazingly talented singing icon, Prince, was in Chicago this week for his highly anticipated concert. During a rare visit his “Welcome to Chicago” tour was designed to help the organization Rebuild The Dream. Although it was a worthy cause, many fans were more interested in seeing the lovely little man with huge artistic flavor.

Well, many that attended day one appeared to leave the United Center feeling a bit disappointed.  My friend even called me to support that rumor, making me fearful that the whopping $169 per ticket investment may have been a big mistake.  She complained that he did not sing many of his most beloved songs and rarely picked up his guitar.  It made me wonder…would I too have a bad experience?

The answer to that question became very clear, extremely early in his show on day two.  As I pulled into the $27 dollar parking lot, feeling excited yet a bit concerned, it was something I would just have to find out.  But let me tell you…luck was definitely on my side.

As Prince took the stage to thousands of screaming fans filling the entire arena, the excitement could be felt through your bones.  His colorful outfit and jazzy piano lit up the stage, as he grinned at his fans with the look of “I have arrived“.  I truly could not contain myself as I joined the crowd screaming like a young teen attending a Justin Bieber concert.

To sum it up, he must have read the negative press which criticized day one.  Because he put on the show of a lifetime, singing most of his popular tunes and often stroking his guitar as only he can do. His look and sound was flawless and his energy was as though he had gone back in time to the early days of “Purple Rain”.

How can a 54-year-old man hang with the youngsters of today?  Not sure…but he certainly showed no sign of slowing down and blew away any new artist.  Step aside Lady Gaga, Justin Bieber, Katy Perry and Nicki Minaj and let the true master teach you.

To add to his amazing show stopping performances he completely rocked the house with special guest Jennifer Hudson.  When they sang “Nothing Compares 2 U”, it was a match made in heaven.  All I can say, is they “TORE IT UP”!  And did I mention his three encores…with a finale of “Little Red Corvette?”  OMG!

Prince is one of the most talented artists of our generation and all in attendance on day two, left the arena knowing just that.  It ranks at the top of my list of “Best concerts of all time“.  While I have seen him perform multiple times, he was definitely at the top of his game.

To the critics…Prince said “Take that!”  I was thoroughly impressed…and cannot wait to see him again!  On another note; so sorry to those who attended day one.

What was your experience?  Feel free to share in the comments section. My review came days later because I still had a Prince hangover.

CHECK OUT RARE PRINCE VIDEO FOOTAGEhttp://www.dailymotion.com/video/xmuh4u_prince-in-a-little-red-corvette-in-montreaux_creation

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in HEADLINE NEWS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “(VIDEO) PRINCE WELCOME 2 CHICAGO 2012 CONCERT REVIEW; DAY 2 BRINGS JENNIFER HUDSON; LEAVES FANS AMAZED & ANGRY

  1. George

    September 27, 2012 at 12:37 pm

    As a fan of Prince for over three decades I am glad you had the time of your life on Tuesday. Unfortunately I was there on Monday and felt as if I had been slapped in the face. Prince’s behavior and his professionalism, simply put, STUNK. I felt cheated on Monday and then even worse after reading about Tuesday’s concert. I don’t think anyone who has ever seen Prince can even begin to imagine how awful the Monday show was. Prince should truly think about refunding half of the money people spent on him that night. On Monday, he played his guitar for about 3 minutes, let his back-up singers do more than their share and then made people sit around for an hour for silly second encore. I will never spend another cent to see him nor will I ever spend another cent on his music. It was like a bad break-up with someone who cheated on you.

     
    • brittaj

      September 27, 2012 at 9:41 pm

      George, thanks for your feedback. Multiple fans said the same about Monday night. Sorry you attended his weakest show. Sometimes the first night is when they get the kinks out, so I try to always attend night 2 or 3. But in this case, he originally was only doing one show. That sucks!

       
  2. Veronica

    October 1, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    I too, was one of the disappointed people who attended Monday night’s show. It was my first time seeing him live, and I understand the music industry enough to know that there are bugs that must be fixed, but the fact that he played literally 30 seconds of the Purple Rain guitar solo and then passed it off to the horns really left a bad taste in my mouth.

    When I heard that he was dropping ticket prices for Wednesday night’s show to $29 for any unsold seat, I grabbed my best purple friend and dragged him (albeit willfully) there and let me just say, he did not disappoint. I was amazed to see his energy was much better and the show was simply incredible. I am still trying to find a word that lives up to his talent, energy, and everything that embodies him. Thanks for your post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
