RSS

11/26/12 THE VOICE RECAP & REVIEWS; NO THRILLS NO INSPIRING MOMENTS

26 Nov

The Voice was on tonight and to be frank…there were no thrills nor exciting moments.  Pretty much all the singers left me feeling empty with absolutely nothing to write about.  At least they had rapper 50 Cents opening the show with Adam Levine to get them on their feet.

It’s pretty bad when a blogger runs out of things to say and is not inspired enough to post a good recap or review.  But unfortunately, this show slowly grew on me and is quickly losing me.  Last season at least they had the clear stand-out and winner, Javier Colon, who made it worth watching.   This year the two hours seem endless and painful.  Even Trevin Hunte and Terry McDermmott did not move me at all…and I like them alot. 

I am still not sure why The Voice is beating The X Factor in the ratings.  It is obviously less entertaining and the judges give me an extra pit in my stomach.

Sorry to all The Voice fans…but this show may not be for me after all.  Is it just me…or did tonight suck extra bad.  Not one great performance as far as I could see….what a waste of my night.

CHECK OUT THE BREAKDOWN OF ALL THE CONTESTANT PERFORMANCES HEREhttp://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/voice-recap-top-8-perform-394364

WHO GOT VOTED OFF THE VOICE 11/27/12?  FIND OUT HERE: https://brittaj17.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/112712-the-voice-live-elimination-who-got-voted-off-tonight-why-do-i-care/

 
11 Comments

Posted by on November 26, 2012 in THE VOICE BLOGS

 

Tags: , , , ,

11 responses to “11/26/12 THE VOICE RECAP & REVIEWS; NO THRILLS NO INSPIRING MOMENTS

  1. Tom Nefeldt

    November 26, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    well let’s see the ratings tomorrow. Though as much as I adore you, the think the voice is the best of these singing realiyt shows. It’s late, have to go to work in the AM, but II’ll have some thoughts tomorrow… but it’s still between Daz, Terry and Sandra

     
    • brittaj

      November 27, 2012 at 10:12 am

      Tom, thanks for that..but maybe it’s just me not connecting with them somehow. Can’t put my finger on it, but no WOW moments recently. Not sure why…

       
  2. joe

    November 27, 2012 at 12:33 am

    You done loss you ———–mind if anybody in this world understand true music this was it. Are You kidding me you must be crazy theres nobody on X Factor that can be a star right today I mean nobody are you kidding me Each contestant can hold there own singing next to any of the judges and you can say that about X Factor or American Idol You can sign any artist and they will bring real music back get a life. The XFactor is Garbage forreal its the worse group of talent of any season of all three singing competion.

     
    • brittaj

      November 27, 2012 at 10:10 am

      Joe, thanks for your post. Hopefully I have not lost my darn mind:). But….something is missing. They sing well and seem to have great personalities, but I am just not connecting with them. The judges also unnerve me for some reason. Not that I’m too happy with the new X Factor judges either!:)

       
  3. Tony G

    November 27, 2012 at 9:06 am

    I can see why one might have doubts with the show as a whole but not for the reason you give. There is a lot of talent here. They love to laud Trevin. Personally, I don’t see why. His only talent seems to be screaming high notes, which in itself is very overrated. Of course, he’s only 18. If there is any hope here, he’ll have to mature into it. He’s clearly not ready. The big story is Cassadee Pope. She’s a star already and has very large and immediate potential. Amanda Brown is worthy of fame and her “rocking” cover of Someone Like You was a moment. Melanie’s unique creative talent should not be underestimated. She can’t win the Voice (so what, really?) but she out to have a long, interesting career. Only 17, she is “cool” in a remarkably precocious way. And I don’t think you can overlook Nicolas. That someone of his style has lasted so long is what the voters have most to be proud of (Dez is their great shame). These four I enjoy a lot, and must give an honorable mention to Terry. Vocally, he is well above the average in his genre. As for Dez, Cory, and Trevin…two thumbs down. Finally, get rid of Christina. She nearly ruins the show by herself. It is like she has it out for Amanda Brown, always having to find something negative to say about her, which I could take if she were more even handed, but then see her unabashedly lavish praise on Dez’s performance, arguably the worst to date of this mediocre artist, makes me physically ill. To be fair to her, though, she does make it clear that, deep down, the only artist she could really love would be a Mini Me version of herself, which she was hoping Adriana could be. The voting public told her where she could stick that notion.

     
    • brittaj

      November 27, 2012 at 10:08 am

      Tony, thanks for your post. While some singers have great voices, their performances are just missing something. I cannot put my finger on it…Trevin sounded better early on, but last night did seem like he was just screaming.

       
    • brittaj

      November 27, 2012 at 10:15 am

      Tony, and I also agree Christina definitely loves a duplicate of herself. Good thing she is moving on next season.

       
  4. Connie Venturin

    December 5, 2012 at 10:54 am

    As an outsider looking in, I’m from Canada and fell in love with The Voice from night 1 and have not missed a single episode. In the beginning, I was a die-hard Christina fan despite the really bad press about her. None of that mattered because her voice was the thing for me. I tried to stay a fan, but because of her really terrible attitude and obvious jealousy and dislike toward some of the other contestants, particularly this season’s Amanda Brown (I too noticed that in a big way and I’m sure a lot of other people have also), she has utterly lost me as a fan and I can barley stomach to watch the show any more. I can’t be happier that she is gone next year.

    That said, she is not the only reason I don’t want to watch The Voice. Blake. Shelton. “Did I mention mah wife? Amanda?” “Did ah mention mah awards?(finger pointing incessantly again and again to self) I could show ya’ll mah “trophy room so ya’ll can see just how awesome ah truly am”. “Ah do so love myself…don’t ya’ll?

    He is so self serving it’s sickening. He and Christina have both made this show about themselves. The true meaning of the completion is completely lost.

    Cee Lo is wise to leave next year, but I think the show will suffer because he is the calm voice of serenity and love. (Sounds corny but it’s true). I love Adam into next week, but he has to take a page from the other coach’s sales book. Whether or not their singers do a great job or whether they do a bad job, Cee Lo, Blake, and Christina praise and laud them. Adam says it like it is most of the time and he is very critical of his people. He expects the best. Not a bad thing in the studio, but it is to the detriment of his singers on the stage. If he thinks they are doing a substandard job and he says that out loud, the audience will believe it and eventually vote accordingly.

    Last night, both of Adam’s people went home…a real tragedy in Amanda’s case. I had hoped she would be last girl standing with Cassidy. To me, either of those 2 would have been great to win. But Christina’s voters would undoubtedly have cast their lot with Blake’s team, and if I’m correct, this likely tipped the scales and spelled the end to Adam’s team.

    As a disappointed viewer…where do I go from here? One thing for sure…I’m not watching! Think I’ll dust off my eReader and check out a good book!

     
    • brittaj

      December 5, 2012 at 10:59 am

      Connie, thanks for your post! I am happy to know someone feels exactly like me when it comes to the show and the judges. It is painful to watch them gloat about how great they are. Christina is an amazing singer, but now annoys me too. With all the criticism she received early on in her career, you would think she would be more empathetic. Amanda should not have been voted off…but the judges comments do impact the viewer’s. ONCE AGAIN…LOVE TO HEAR SOMEONE WHO IS ON THE SAME PAGE! A book may be your best option:).

       
  5. Connie Venturin

    December 5, 2012 at 10:56 am

    Sorry…typo…s/b barely, not barley!! Although I do like barley in a good soup.

     
    • brittaj

      December 5, 2012 at 11:01 am

      Funny! I knew what you meant:) Typos are a part of life:)

       

Leave a Reply

 
