RSS

(VIDEO) 12/8/12: JAMIE FOXX HOSTS SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE…”HOW BLACK IS THAT?” MONOLOGUE CONTROVERSY

08 Dec

Jamie Foxx hosted Saturday Night Live tonight and gave the show a well needed boost.  The comedian, actor, and singer went back to his roots of comedy, which reminded me of his hilarious days on ‘In Living Color’ back in 1991.  While the writers on SNL often lack the ability to make me laugh, somehow Foxx can usually turn anything into greatness.  But this show is already receiving backlash and has caused a controversy.

Foxx opened the show with a monologue on “How black is that” which made fun of President Obama and other funny scenarios.  While most was funny to me…some American’s may believe it was nothing to laugh about.  It may have been a bit too “in your face” and not everyone is ready for this type of humor (check out NBC SNL page and see the negative comments already pouring in calling it a racist rant).  Was it offensive?  Well, not to me, but I have a warped sense of humor and don’t take life too seriously.  We American’s have taken being “politically correct” over the top…remember Richard Pryor?  His jokes were much more hard-core and we did not seem to mind.

The guest host then went on to remind us of how talented he is as a singer.  It’s surprising that he does not release more music…his voice is incredible.

It was good to finally see SNL try to be more like the early days of Eddie Murphy, Dan Aykroyd, John Belushi, Bill Murray, Gilda Radner, Chevy Chase and others.  Although it did not exactly get back to the extreme mega cast and writing of that era, at least it did put a smile on my face several times.

Foxx is undoubtably a triple threat; he is funny, can sing, and act…what more do you need?  It’s no wonder he is a Academy Award Winner.  It’s just too bad the show had an amazing host, but was unable to really take him to his true potential.  But he did the best he could with what he was given and some sketches still gave me a few laughs. CHECK OUT HIS SETH MEYERS UPDATE ON DING DONG’S here. 

Ne-Yo was the musical guests which was also refreshing.  His new song is definitely a club hit and has great lyrics.

On another note; if only the writer’s on SNL could keep up this pace and become better at creating material that’s actually funny.  The show has lacked great writing for year’s but has so much potential.  The only thing consistently entertaining is Seth Meyers news updates. After being on since 1975, you would think they would have perfected it by now.

Need to check out his new film. Django Unchained written and directed by Quentin Tarantino. The film stars Jamie Foxx, Christoph Waltz, Leonardo DiCaprio, Kerry Washington and Samuel L. Jackson.  

What do you think?  Did the monologue go too far?  Did it seem racist?  Facebook and the internet is already lighting up!

http://www.nbc.com/saturday-night-live/video/weekend-update-ding-dong/1426439/

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 8, 2012 in ENTERTAINMENT

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “(VIDEO) 12/8/12: JAMIE FOXX HOSTS SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE…”HOW BLACK IS THAT?” MONOLOGUE CONTROVERSY

  1. Jolene Sailer

    December 9, 2012 at 7:53 am

    I watched last night and was not impressed with much of the show, especially the “Bitch” game show skit! I actually flipped to a different channel until that one was over. I found the constant use of the word offensive. The opening of the show…How Black is that was funny for about one minute and then it got “old”. Seth Meyers was a highlight as-well-as Ne-Yo, otherwise it was a SNL fail in my opinion. I loved the Christmas dedication last Saturday however! Sharpen up SNL writers!

     
    • brittaj

      December 9, 2012 at 10:12 am

      Jolene…I agree. The SNL writer’s suck! They could have done so much more…Jamie is really funny.

       
      • Jolene Sailer

        December 9, 2012 at 10:47 am

        Yes brittaj, I agree Jamie is a talented comedian 🙂 In Living Color was one of my favorites. SNL writers were maybe having an “off” week possibly due to the stress of the hurricane disaster. I still look forward to watching SNL but if the show looks like a “dud” half ways through, I occupy my time elsewhere. Holiday Blessings to you and family brittaj! I enjoy your posts and comments. God Bless 🙂

         
      • brittaj

        December 9, 2012 at 10:51 am

        Happy holidays to you too Jolene! Thanks for all your support this year :).

         
  2. Uriah

    December 9, 2012 at 10:10 am

    I really don’t think that his opening was bad at all. I had a feeling that he would try to bring some of the laughs that I miss from In Living Color. I was working late at DISH last night, so I wasn’t able to see the show live on TV. I set my Hopper from DISH a few months ago to automatically record the show, so I can watch it the next morning. It is nice being able to have the whole season of SNL on my DVR with more than enough room left over for the rest of my favorite shows. I hope that Jamie Foxx hosts again the future, and I can’t wait to see Martin Short soon!

     

Leave a Reply

 
