RSS

(VIDEO) 12/17/12: THE VOICE LIVE FINALS RECAP; HALLELUJAH TRIBUTE TO SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL VICTIMS

17 Dec
R.I.P.

R.I.P.

The Voice opened the show with a tribute to the Sandy Hook Elementary school shooting victims. They reunited all of this seasons’ contestants who sang the heartfelt song Hallelujah, along with their coaches.  It was definitely a tissue moment, as they stood singing with the 26 victims names held up high for the nation to see.  Very special and touching tribute…and certainly not a dry eye for anyone watching.

Nicholas David was first out to perform for the final time before the winner is crowned.  Singing “Great Balls of Fire” by Jerry Lee Lewis and “Fire” by Jimi Hendrix, he sounded soulful and looked relaxed.  Like the coaches said, it looked like he was having fun but still was in tune.

Cassadee Pope was next out and went back to her game changing song.  She repeated her top-selling iTunes hit, “Over You” , written by her coach.  It once again came across flawless and her dress looked stunning.  The only problem with that performance was that it seemed too safe.  I would have expected her to take more of a chance in the final stretch.  It made me realize just how much she sounds like many artists already on the radio. In my opinion, she needed more of a break-out moment to set her apart.  Even her song “Cry” sounded too similar to the others. Don’t get me wrong…she is still amazing.  

In a surprise reunion they added a bit more stress to the last performer.  They secretly united Terry McDermott with his estranged dad, who he had not seen in four years due to work.  It could have either been a boost to his confidence or something to make him crumble.  As usual, he handled the pressure like a true professional and rocked it again.  Singing “Broken Wings” he started off a bit shaky due to technical problems, but pulled it together quickly and sounded like a star.

Overall they all sounded great and the votes could get split fairly evenly.  The only negative review for tonight is that they were all over the place with performances.  It went from individual performances, to groups, to back- stories, to duets and then full circle.  It did not allow viewer’s to really critique them side-by-side without distractions.  This seemed more like the finale.

Who will win The Voice?  Well, anyone reading my blogs would know I am all in with Terry McDermott.  However, realistically based on tonight it could also be Nicholas or Cassadee.  But remember, if Nicholas wins I will definitely eat my remote control.  Not that he’s not a great singer…I just think the others are better.  If you go by their FACEBOOK PAGE...Cassadee is ahead so far.

On another note; was Christina Aguilera going to Vegas after the show?  What was up with the showgirl outfit with top hat?  Not sure, but she still lacks style after all these year’s of success…very sad.  On a happier note, really enjoyed the “little” Cee Lo….now that was funny!

Remember to vote below on who you think will win The Voice.

THANK YOU VIDEO TO MY BLOG FANS!  Featuring Carly Rae Jepsen of course.

 
17 Comments

Posted by on December 17, 2012 in THE VOICE BLOGS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

17 responses to “(VIDEO) 12/17/12: THE VOICE LIVE FINALS RECAP; HALLELUJAH TRIBUTE TO SANDY HOOK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL VICTIMS

  1. Tom Nefeldt

    December 18, 2012 at 5:47 am

    I think seeing last nights episode, with the excellent performers, and the heartfelt opening along with the coaches duet performances (Blake and Terry, with a shirtless, long haired wig guitar performance by Adam Levine), shows WHY The Voice outshined the XFactor in the ratings and other areas this season.

    Actually seeing your suggestions to Simon, with YOUR suggestion for the Judges on XFactor made me appreciate the Coaches on The Voice all the more.

     
    • brittaj

      December 18, 2012 at 10:17 am

      Tom, you are probably right. Fans of the coaches probably like also getting a performance from them too. They do work harder than the judges on X Factor for sure!
      RIGHT AGAIN TOM!

       
  2. Phyllis McGuire

    December 18, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I just started to watch “The Voice” and I like this show but did not hear of it. I’m watching the show now. I will find out what time it comes on, it’s exciting to watch cause its similar to Xfactor and American Idol.

     
    • brittaj

      December 18, 2012 at 11:12 am

      Phyllis, it took two season’s to grow on me! It is still NOT my favorite singing competition, but I do like the early rounds when they cannot see the contestants faces. The judges work hard for the money…but have huge egos in my opinion. The final show is tonight…so maybe you can tune in next year for the full season. New judges…Christina and Cee Lo are leaving!

       
      • Phyllis McGuire

        December 18, 2012 at 11:51 am

        I would like to see how they can not see the contestants but hear they voice and vote. That’s Kool, so I will tune in for next season. Why do the good judges leave the show? The last show is tonight and I will be watching it. Thanks Brittaj.

         
      • brittaj

        December 18, 2012 at 11:59 am

        Phyllis, they are leaving to focus more on their careers. It is tough to keep popular celebrities long-term on these shows!

         
      • Phyllis McGuire

        December 18, 2012 at 12:08 pm

        Oh, that is understandable to continue their careers. It will be hard to keep the good judges for that reason alone.

         
  3. Tom Nefeldt

    December 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm

    tonight 7 to 8 is a recap of last nights performances (worth seeing again), 8 to 10, will be the announcement of the winner. Why 2 freakin’ hours? Lots of guest star performances. Should be good. All Central Time.

    Don’t get me wrong I really like XFactor too, I just think Simon kind of blew it this season, with a couple of mis-steps… Britney being one of them.

     
    • brittaj

      December 18, 2012 at 12:49 pm

      Tom, I agree…Simon should have stuck with the original judges. Miss Paula Abdul for sure!

       
      • Phyllis McGuire

        December 18, 2012 at 5:26 pm

        I agree with keeping Miss Paula Abdul too. I do think Simon tells the contestants like it is, but he needs better judges for the XFactor. The American Idol is doing well; in my opinion.

         
      • Tom Nefeldt

        December 18, 2012 at 5:56 pm

        Just FYI While “cut and paste” doesn’t work to well in a “text” only environment (all blogs).

        Show (Network) Rating(18-49) / Share Viewers(Millions)
        1# The Voice(NBC) 4.1/11 13.2

        The Voice had it’s highest “numbers” of the season (Nielsen) again #1 with 13.2 Million folks watching the elemination competition. Wonder what the results show extravaganza will bring tonight. Usually results shows (XF, T.V., AI, and AGT) don’t do as well as the elimination competition the night before, but I’ll be curious about tonight. BTW while 13.2 million is a lot of people, American Idol normally grabs about 20 million, give or take a million or two.

         
      • brittaj

        December 18, 2012 at 8:52 pm

        Thanks Tom…good info!!!

         
      • Tom Nefeldt

        December 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

        Totally agree.

         
  4. Tom Nefeldt

    December 18, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    Well my guy didn’t win, but Cassadee is one incredible Lady, talented, personable and gorgeous. Nichcolas was great too. Incredible season for the voice, hated to say good bye tonight. I’m sure all three will have wonderful careers. Now on to the Xfactor finals, and the AI and AGT. The new show 1600 Penn looks like the first sitcome I’ll watch in 20 years, unless it’s directly against Glee, then I’ll DVR it. I’ll pass along tonighst ratings tomorrow. You’ve got my email, is there some place I can just forward them too? I get a feed from Variety every day of the previous nights top ten.

     
    • brittaj

      December 18, 2012 at 10:42 pm

      Sorry Tom! But at least she sounds good too:) Feel free to email me at britta.rivera@comcast.net. Thanks!

       
      • Tom Nefeldt

        December 18, 2012 at 11:02 pm

        No need to be sorry, of course that is what I meant by talented. She not only sounds “good” she sounds amazing (don’t tell xf’s Britney I said that LOL). I split my votes last night between her and Terry, but gave Terry 20 more (out of 100, yes I was late for work this morning).

         
      • brittaj

        December 18, 2012 at 11:10 pm

        FUNNY!!! Late for work??? 🙂

         

Leave a Reply

 
