RSS

(VIDEO) 2012: 35th ANNUAL KENNEDY CENTER HONORS; BETH HART STEALS THE SHOW

29 Dec

Anyone watching the recent airing (12/26/12) of the 35th annual Kennedy Centers Honors was definitely moved by one special performance.  Singer Beth Hart stole the show and received a well-deserved standing ovation.  It was an elegantly produced tribute; honoring legends in the performing arts for their lifetime of contributions to American culture.

This year honorees included; Chicago blues legend Buddy Guy, late night talk show host Dave Letterman, iconic ballerina Natalia Makarova, actor Dustin Hoffman and rock band Led Zeppelin.

The star-filled packed arena even included President Obama and First Lady Michelle Obama.  I must admit although I added it to my DVR to do list, it was almost skipped.  But luckily nothing was on tonight and I tuned in as a last resort.  Good thing…because I was pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed it.

While Beth Hart was not a familiar name to me, her performance during a tribute to Buddy Guy blew me away.  She belted out the popular hit, ‘I’d Rather Go Blind’ and it sent chills up my spine.  Even the President couldn’t hold back and swayed to the beat.  If you missed it the above video is a must see.  I am an instant fan of her music and hope to hear more from Hart in the near future.

If you happen to catch the entire show, there were many other special performances and it was actually very entertaining.  Check out the full list of attendees here which included; Tina Fey, Alec Baldwin, Ray Romano, Jimmy Kimmel, Lenny Kravitz, Tracy Chapman, and Bonnie Raitt. 

Don’t let her raw opening scare you…below is worth a listen too. 

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 29, 2012 in ENTERTAINMENT

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “(VIDEO) 2012: 35th ANNUAL KENNEDY CENTER HONORS; BETH HART STEALS THE SHOW

  1. Tom Nefeldt

    December 29, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    The entire show was great, of course Beth DID steal the show. I wish I would have DVR’d so I could watch it again, but I’m sure it will be repeated some where.

     
    • brittaj

      December 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm

      Tom…I watched her performance 3 times! It was a great show all around.

       
      • Meg Guenin (@megolas1)

        January 1, 2013 at 7:56 pm

        Brittaj – I can’t agree more. Amazing – I must have watched it 4 times before I could even digest it. I then watched Etta perform it on Youtube and I seriously think that Beth channeled Etta for that performance. It moved me, so I loved seeing President Obama feeling the same way. I thought President Obama looked super sexy swaying to the music (and so did gorgeous Michelle). But yes, Beth is amazing. I had only one of her songs before this in my iTunes library, “L.A. Song”, which is heart-wrenching, but wow, I had no clue of the depth of her talent. She is a raw and amazing singer; so bless the powers that be who selected her to perform for the Kennedy Center Honors.

         
      • brittaj

        January 1, 2013 at 9:36 pm

        Meg…yes she definitely channeled Etta! Loved her performance too..and watched it multiple times:). Thanks for your feedback!

         
  2. Phyllis McGuire

    December 29, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    I never heard of Beth Hart but both of her songs are number one. It really touch me and now I’m a fan of her. Well done because she really sang those songs,

     
    • brittaj

      December 29, 2012 at 7:48 pm

      Phyllis, I had never heard of her either…but this should really put her on the map! AMAZING!

       
  3. Vijit

    December 30, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Hi I was brought here because I was looking for her video at the Kennedy Centre via google. I had also not heard of her. Yes she was absolutely brilliant and I also thought she stole the show. Thanks for posting the link to the video. Wow is all I can say.

     
    • brittaj

      December 30, 2012 at 10:31 am

      Vijit,

      It seems she may have many new fans now! Thanks for your feedback:).

       
  4. Tom Nefeldt

    December 30, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    Everybody was talking about her the next day at work, I’m sure she gained a lot of new fans. The show was seen by 8 million people. Most folks I know (me included) watched for Letterman and Led Zeppelin tributes, but were just blown away by Beth Hart. I really got a kick out of seeing Obama “diggin’ ” the music. It brought him, and the First Lady closer to us “ordinary” folk. I could almost see him smokin’ a “J.”

     
    • brittaj

      December 30, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      Tom, good to hear people talked about Beth! And so funny about the Prez…if he pulled one out it would have made my night! LOL!

       

Leave a Reply

 
