RSS

70 MILLION AMERICAN’S BELIEVE FLU SHOT GIVES YOU THE FLU…TRUE OR FALSE?

15 Jan

There was a special on Nightline tonight about a very sensitive topic.  Does the flu shot give you the flu? Well, according to a study, about 70 million American’s believe this is true (including me!).  A medical expert explained that the virus contained in the vaccine is “dead”, therefore, this could not possibly be true.

Sorry, this still did not convince me.  Why do all my friends who get the flu shot seem to get the flu each year? I have not had the flu in over five years with no shot?  How can that be?

Another issue is the recent uproar by nurses in a hospital.  They were told a flu shot was mandatory, so they all quit.  If they work in the medical field and have doubts about it, that certainly does not make me feel more secure.

Some states even penalize medical worker’s with fines if they refuse the flu shot.  They are told, since they work around sick people they don’t want them to spread germs, but remember many get the flu even with the shot.  So does that make sense?  Some have even been fired for refusing. 

One blog probably won’t answer the all important question, nor will it convince millions one way or another. Those who strongly believe in the vaccine probably will hold firm, the same as their opponents.  It is a question similar to religion and politics…a feud always ensues so it may be best left alone.

News outlets have reported a serious flu outbreak, causing mass panic.  But if about 20 people have died out of the millions with the flu, is that really an epidemic? More people have died from gun violence recently and some still believe guns, prescription med’s, and violent video games are under control.

It will be interesting to hear your feedback.  Do you believe the flu shot gets you sick, or saves you from the flu?  Chime in below and take the poll, also feel free to post your comments.

One thing’s for sure…I am NOT headed to my local pharmacy to get my toxic shot.  You can believe that!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in HEADLINE NEWS

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “70 MILLION AMERICAN’S BELIEVE FLU SHOT GIVES YOU THE FLU…TRUE OR FALSE?

  1. Tom Nefeldt

    January 15, 2013 at 6:52 pm

    True… I believe that 70 Million Americans believe that. False… I don’t think it is true.

     
    • brittaj

      January 15, 2013 at 6:59 pm

      Tom, all I know is everyone around me with the shot is sick. All around me without the shot is well. Not sure if it is a coincidence, but I will take my chances! LOL!

       
  2. Phyllis McGuire

    January 15, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    When I was working in the Health Field, I did take the Flu shot but I had stop taking the flu shot after Zi start taking care of my father. It seem like I catch the cold a lot, since I stop taking it.

     
    • brittaj

      January 15, 2013 at 7:25 pm

      Interesting Phyllis…sounds like it may have worked for you?

       
  3. Tom Nefeldt

    January 15, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Brittaj and Phyllis, I don’t take the shot, because it doesn’t protect against everything. I’ve had colds that were miserable, and yet the DR would say “it’s just a cold,” and others that would say “you have THE flu.” I’d rather NOT inject myself with anything, that is not 100% accurate. I just think the Lovely and Talented Brittaj’s original question was a bit ambiguous… True or False does it give you the flu,or True or False do 70 Million Americans believe it does.

     

Leave a Reply

 
