RSS

MOVIE CRITICS BASH BLACK FILMS UNFAIRLY; ‘BAGGAGE CLAIM’ TRUE MOVIE REVIEW

13 Nov

It has been a while since I blogged due to the busy real estate market.  However, this angered me enough to take time out from my busy schedule to share my thoughts.  This is about black films….and has me ticked off!  Why do critics bash black films? 

Recently, I wanted to see a good movie to take a quick break from my stressful work schedule. Since my time is limited, I decided to check the reviews on new releases to make sure to find a hit.  There were a few films on my list to see, including ”Baggage Claim”, starring Paula Patton (wife of Robin Thicke), Taye Diggs (one of my favs), Boris Kodjoe, Adam Brody, Trey Songz, Jill Scott, LaLa Anthony, Tia Mowry (she was FUNNY!)  Jennifer Lewis (HILARIOUS!) and directed by David E. Talbert.

Of course I did what most movie goers do….I checked the critic reviews on the internet.  Most, if not all of them, completely dissed the movie.  This left me feeling disappointed, since the trailer seemed really interesting.  So I passed and saw what the critics said was “good movie” and it was HORRIBLE (won’t even admit to seeing this stupid movie)!   The following week there were no good movies released, so I broke down and still saw Baggage Claim.  And guess what….it was AMAZING & ENTERTAINING!

It’s unfortunate that I almost missed supporting a well-acted, well-directed and really funny movie.  Boy was I mad, because this is not the first time it has happened.  In the past critics have given harsh reviews for Tyler Perry films as well, but I know to disregard those.

I’m not sure if mainstream critics are so out of touch with different types of ethnic humor, or if is a conspiracy against the success of black actors, producer’s and director’s.  How many times have they given GREAT REVIEWS to incredibly stupid “other films“?  It makes me sick and seems that we need a good BLACK critic to review black films.  Hate to say it, but having a black President does not seem to be enough.

If you have not yet seen Baggage Claim, I urge you to see it before it’s gone from theatres.  It may not win an Oscar, but it was extremely entertaining.  Another thing to note; David E. Talbert is the first person of color to write, direct and produce a film inspired by his own book…now that’s an accomplishment!  It is based on the adaptation of his Best-Selling novel with the same name.

Did I mention Talbert has also has written 14 plays, received 24 NAACP Image Award nominations and won Best Playwright of the Year? 

Maybe I should be come a movie critic…then the true reviews can be written when it comes to films released by different ethnic groups.  It’s bad enough we rarely win Academy Awards. This could be why.  HUMMMMM???

And no…this is NOT a paid announcement.  Just in case you were wondering.

READ MORE ABOUT DAVID E. TALBERT HERE; http://www.davidetalbert.com/site.php

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 13, 2013 in MOVIE REVIEWS

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “MOVIE CRITICS BASH BLACK FILMS UNFAIRLY; ‘BAGGAGE CLAIM’ TRUE MOVIE REVIEW

  1. Will Stone

    January 23, 2014 at 1:46 am

    I totally agree with you on your post, about the biast critic review’s and what not, It reminds me of when i stopped judging movies on critic review’s with the movie ‘drop zone’ with westly snipes, i loved that movie.

     

Leave a Reply

 
